Leicester Vs. Wasps – Team News

Leicester Vs. Wasps – Team News

England international Dan Cole will start for Leicester at prop after starting last weekend's 38-31 comeback win at Gloucester on the bench. Mike Fitzgerald returns at lock, while Mike Williams and Owen Williams are fit to return on a strong Tigers bench alongside England internationals Ellis Genge and Ben Youngs.

Wasps openside flanker Thomas Young is back after a four-month injury lay-off. Joe Simpson is also recalled to the starting line-up starts at scrum-half. New signing Matt Symons and Marty Moore both make their first start, while loosehead Simon McIntyre also steps up after impressing off the bench in the opening weekend win against Exeter.

Wasps remain without seven injured players, forwards Phil Swainston and England loose forward James Haskell, along with backs Dan Robson, Guy Armitage, Alapati Leiua and new signings Kurtley Beale and Kyle Eastmond.

Since suffering a 10-3 home Premiership defeat by Sale in February, when Danny Cipriani kicked five of the visitors'points, the Tigers have now won their last six home games at Welford Road in all competitions. Coventry-based Wasps have not won at Welford Road since September 2008, a 28-19 Premiership victory, but their 36-24 win over Tigers at the Ricoh Arena in March was their first in five meetings with their now near neighbours.

Wasps boss Dai Young told BBC Coventry & Warwickshire:"It's obviously been good to train on the back of a win this week, but there's still been plenty to work on. Our second-half performance was far better than our first half last Sunday."We managed to get ourselves over the line, but we know we'll need to step up again if we're to be in with a chance of getting the result we want."Everyone saw what Leicester are capable of last weekend, when they came back to win against Gloucester. We all know about the Tigers' spirit and their never-say-die attitude. They're never beaten until the final whistle."

Leicester: Tait; Thompstone, Betham, Smith, Pietersen; Burns, Harrison; Marcos Ayerza, T Youngs (capt), Cole, Slater, Fitzgerald, Hamilton, O'Connor, McCaffrey.

   Replacements : McGuigan, Genge, Bateman, Kitchener, Williams, B Youngs, Williams, Roberts.

Wasps: Miller; Wade, Daly, Gopperth, Bassett; Cipriani, Simpson; McIntyre, Taylor, Moore, Launchbury (capt), Symons, Jones, Young, Thompson.

   Replacements: Johnson, Mullan, Cooper-Woolley, Gaskell, Hughes, Hampson, Macken, Halai.

– Entry was posted on September 9th, 2016 by James Haskell

You may also like

© 2018 JHH&F - James Haskell Health and Fitness Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
All Rights Reserved